Author Interview ~ 15 Questions with…Kerrie Paterson

15 questions with...

 

KERRIE PATERSON

Today, I’m pleased to have Kerrie Paterson on my blog answering fifteen questions. Please welcome Kerrie.

 


kerrie-patersonQ. Whereabouts do you call home?

A. Maitland in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley

Q. How do you usually begin your day?

A. By feeding my demanding cat! I’ve then been slowly developing the habit of going for a 30-40 min walk straight after that.

Q. Tell us about your books 

A. I write small town romance and women’s fiction all featuring heroes and heroines in their 40s and above.

Q. How long does it take you to write a book?

A. Too long! A conservative estimate is about 6 months for a 60K novel.

Q. When did you first realise you wanted to be a writer?

A. I wanted to be a writer right from when I was a kid, but instead took a “real job”. I always said I’d write a book some day – maybe when I retired. It wasn’t until 2009 that I decided why wait? It’s time for someday!

Q. Do you have a regular day job (or night) or write full time?

A. I work part time for myself in an IT role, but am trying to decrease the time spent doing that.

Q. When do you usually write? And do you have any particular quirks?

A. I used to be very inconsistent with when I wrote, and my word count reflected that. In the last 6 months or so, I’ve carved out the time to be able to write for a couple of hours each morning, and am now achieving consistent weekly word counts.

Chasing DreamsQ. Are you a plotter or a panster?

A. I’m a panster who is trying to transform into a plotter! I’ve usually have an idea of the start, end and key turning points and cross my fingers that the bit in the middle comes together. This leads to a lot of time-consuming rewriting, so I’m attempting to become a plotter.

Q. What has been your favourite moment as an author?

A. I like to celebrate a lot of smaller milestones along the way – putting my first self-published books on Amazon, receiving my first royalties, signing my first contract, but I think my favourite so far was winning the ARRA Favourite New Romance Author earlier this year!

Q. How many books have you written? Which is your favourite? What inspired this story?

A. I’ve written 7 books – 4 have been published, 2 are hopefully soon to be published, and my first is better never spoken of 🙂 Picking a favourite book is like picking a favourite child! It varies from day to day! There are things in each that make them dear to me. Possibly my favourite of the published books is Reach for the Stars which is partly inspired by my work with young people as a Scout Leader.


Q. What was your hardest scene to write?

A. Oooh another a tough question! In my first book, Letting Go, the heroine has lost her two teenage children to a road accident. As a mother, writing her memories of the loss was very hard!

Q. Any advice to budding authors?

A. Gather a supportive group of people around you, particularly other authors who know how hard it is. Family and friends might be supportive but sometimes they don’t fully understand. Good writing friends can honestly make the difference between giving up and forging on, and they’ll be there to celebrate your successes!

Return to Jacaranda AveQ. What do you think makes a good story? Do you have any particular tropes you love or hate reading?

A. For me, I need characters I can love. A plot can be sensational, but if I don’t care about the characters, I’ll stop reading. My favourite tropes are second chance love and best friends turned lovers!

Q. Which do you prefer? Paperback or e-reader, and why?

A. Paperback! I know how convenient ebooks are and I do buy them, but I much prefer to hold a print book in my hand. I find I can lose myself in the story better with a print book.

Q. What are your hobbies and interests besides writing?

A. I’m a Scout Leader, so that takes up a fair bit of my time! I also volunteer with my son’s drama school and have been various roles including stage manager (which also takes up a lot of my time but is equally rewarding!) I love hiking and camping, am a yoga student, and a keen amateur photographer.

ABOUT Kerrie

Reach for the StarsKerrie Paterson writes contemporary women’s fiction and small town / rural romance – stories about women in their 40s and above who have reached a crossroads in their life. She loves to write about women’s relationships with their friends and family, as well as their romances.

Her manuscript ‘Sisters’ placed in the top 10 of the RWA’s 2013 Emerald competition, making it through to the 2nd round. In 2014, she repeated that success with ‘Elsie’s Place’ in the 2014 Emerald competition, with a 6th placing. ‘Elsie’s Place’ also came 2nd in the 2014 Ripping Start competition. In 2015, she made the 3rd and final round of the 2015 Emerald with a 3rd place for ‘Polly’s Patisserie’. In 2016, her novel Reach for the Stars was nominated for a Ruby Award in the Short Sweet category.

She fits in writing between homeschooling her pre-teen son, driving him around to activities, running her website design business and being keeper of the family knowledge (aka ‘Mum, have you seen my camera / phone / cable etc?’).  In her spare time, she’s a yoga student, keen photographer and avid reader.

Kerrie is a proud member and volunteer of the Romance Writers of Australia and the Hunter Romance Writers. She lives in the Hunter Valley, Australia.

 

 Connect with Kerrie

WEBSITE/BLOG | FACEBOOKTWITTER | INSTAGRAM     

                

 

