Author Interview ~ 15 Questions with…Suzy Shearer

15 questions with...

 

Suzy SheaRer

Today, I’m pleased to have Suzy Shearer on my blog answering fifteen questions. Please welcome Suzy.

 

Suzy ShearerQ. Whereabouts do you call home?

A. Western Sydney, Australia

Q. How do you usually begin your day?

A. Music. I can’t live without it. Turn on my iPod then get stuck into the day usually with a cup of black Chinese White tea.

Q. Tell us about your books 

A. Contemporary and Paranormal Erotic Romances

Q. How long does it take you to write a book?

A. Depends on the characters – they usually dictate how I write. Some books have taken years and others as little as a few months.

Q. When did you first realise you wanted to be a writer?

A. Lol … not until I was approaching my 60s.

Q. Do you have a regular day job (or night) or write full time?

A. I’m actually a watercolour artist but now do both things (paint and write) full time.

Q. When do you usually write? And do you have any particular quirks?

A. Apart from having music blasting out there is nothing else I must have. I write when the characters clamour so loud I can’t ignore them. I never have any strict rules about word counts.

Q. Are you a plotter or a panster?

A. Definitely a panster. I use Scrivener and write all over the place. Maybe chapter 1, then Chapter 17, then back to 3 then maybe the epilogue. Like a butterfly I flit all over the story but somehow it all comes together at the end.

Q. What has been your favourite moment as an author?

A. The first one was getting my first book accepted – and from the first publisher I submitted to! The other moment that give me a thrill is whenever I get a print version in my hand and realise that it’s my name on the cover as the author.

Q. How many books have you written? Which is your favourite? What inspired this story?

A. I’ve had 16 books published with the 17th due in September. I guess my favourite is a book called A Hunter’s Heart. It’s a paranormal romance about immortal vampire hunters and it was inspired by something that happened to me. It scared the hell of of me and still does whenever I think about it. When it happened I wrote it down, sort of a way to get it right in my head, and then a few years later found it on my computer and realised it would make a great opening for a story. I wrote the story and the rest is history.

Dark Desires 3

Q. What was your hardest scene to write?

A. I described a bushfire in one book. The heroine is trapped inside her house, the fire is burning around it and finally consumes the house.  The reader has no idea if she survives. It was emotional for both her, the hero and me writing it. In fact it felt like torture to write. Somehow I had to get all the drama, the knife-edge suspense yet still keep the reader involved emotionally. For me it was heart-wrenching to write but I think they are best few chapters I’ve written even though it was hard.
I’ve had readers write to me and say how they cried throughout those chapters and it made me think I’d actually done what I set out to achieve.

Q. Any advice to budding authors?

A. Never give up. Keep true to yourself and don’t let anyone influence you into changing your ‘voice’. Read lots – from the classics right through to contemporary and across all genres. Don’t get disheartened with reject slips and when you do publish never let bad reviews get you down. Remember you cannot please everyone, even the top writers like Stephen King and J K Rowling get rotten reviews.

Q. What do you think makes a good story? Do you have any particular tropes you love or hate reading?

A. Characters that the reader can relate too – ones that have ‘normal’ flaws. Some tropes get overworked like the ‘good’ vampire – that’s why I made mine horrible, scary and thoroughly rotten … lol. I also get a bit bored with the millionaire handsome hero even though I used them myself.

Q. Which do you prefer? Paperback or e-reader, and why?

A. Paperback!

Don’t get me wrong I’ve bought thousands of ebooks but they can’t beat holding a book in your hand, the weight, the smell, the feel of the paper…. and of course if you’re the author seeing them on your shelf.

Q. What are your hobbies and interests besides writing?

A. As I mentioned I’m an artist so I like photography. I often go out and take photos to use as reference. I also do some ‘en plien air’ painting and painting using a nude model.

ABOUT SUZY

ss-buildalove-lBest-selling and Award winning author Suzy Shearer writes contemporary and paranormal erotic romances filled with mature and interesting characters. Her books have constantly reached her publisher’s Best Seller list with several reaching # 1.  Her book Build A Love was runner-up in the Menage category in the Easy Chair Bookshop’s Fiction competition 2015 and A Hunter’s Heart was runner-up in the Series Category.

Single, all alone and fancy free Suzy lives in the Western Suburbs of Sydney, Australia with one very spoilt dog and two equally spoilt cats keeping her company.

She is a Buddhist – very reclusive she is an author, an artist, a computer nerd and a voracious reader. Suzy has a penchant for crazy coloured hair – pinks, purples blues even rainbowed …. it changes every month  – oh yes, also a penchant for tattoos!

Her books always feature older heroes and heroines; ranging from mid 40s to 60s. The heroines are usually confident plus-sized women who are proud of their curves. Suzy feels it’s very important for readers to connect with the characters.  When she discovered many romance books seemed to cater for younger readers with their heroines and heroes in the 20s or 30s she decided to write about characters who were older but maybe not always wiser.  As she is in her 60s Suzy feels she can relate to her characters desires, fears and hopes and hopes her readers can as well.

Suzy also wants her readers to understand just because people are older doesn’t mean they aren’t intriguing, desirable, open to challenges and willing to experiment.  They have flaws, they have passions.

Sexy isn’t just for the under 30s.

When Suzy is not writing, she is usually painting – an accomplished watercolour Artist her subjects range from portraits and animals  to nudes and landscapes.

 

 Connect with Suzy

WEBSITE | BLOG | FACEBOOK | AMAZON | TWITTER

BOOKSTRAND | GOODREADS | PINTEREST | SUZY’S ARTWORK       

                   

hunters4

 

