My First Writers Conference

Romance Writers of Australia: 2016 Ain’t Love Grand Conference

About this time last week, I admit I was in my hotel room in Glenelg, Adelaide taking a nap. I was exhausted from the information download of the two days prior and the day of travel. It was my first ever conference and the first time I’d been to South Australia. For a person who isn’t a fan of crowds I wasn’t sure what to expect but I absolutely loved every minute of it.  Everyone was so nice and supportive especially to fish out of water newbies like myself.

So I’m glad I was able to make it as last year I was saving for a townhouse. I almost didn’t go again this year, thinking I should use the money for something else but then I got notified that my short story, The Healing Gift would be featured in the 2016 Little Gems Anthology.

2016 Little Gems: Victoria Steele, Emmeline Lock, Michelle Skidmore, Monique Hall, Heidi Catherine, Fiona Greene, Jillian Jones, Emily Hussey, Suzanne Cass, and me. Not pictured: Fiona Marsden, Melanie Coles and Cat Whelan.
2016 Little Gems: Victoria Steele, Emmeline Lock, Michelle Skidmore, Monique Hall, Heidi Catherine, Fiona Greene, Jillian Jones, Emily Hussey, Suzanne Cass, and me. Not pictured: Fiona Marsden, Melanie Coles and Cat Whelan.

 

Decision made – with a little prompting from a friend. What an awesome experience! It was fantastic to meet fellow authors (I also had a couple fan girl moments) and hopefully made a few friends. I’d recommend to any aspiring writer to go to at least one conference in their life.
Thankfully I packed light. Plenty of room for more books.
Thankfully I packed light. Plenty of room for more books.
There was a fabulous line up of keynote speakers: Jim and Nikoo McGoldrick AKA May McGoldrick, Keri Arthur and Catherine LaRoche. The speakers were very inspiring. It was also interesting to learn more about the industry. Unfortunately I missed out on seeing Heather Graham as she had to fly home unexpectedly.

 

I had the pleasure of attending some classes presented by Michael Hague, Isolde Martyn and Jaye Ford and May McGoldrick. There was a lot to take in but I took copious notes. Hopefully I’ll be able to read my own writing when I need a refresher.

 

A big thank you to all who shared their experiences and imparted what has worked for them all in an effort to help others be all that they can be. It is much appreciated.

 

As well as great company, there was plenty of delicious food, champagne and laughter. On top of all that it was exciting being there when the winners of this year’s awards were announced. Congratulations to all the winners and a big well done for all who were nominated.

 

First sale ribbon.
First sale ribbon.
On the last day, the wonderful Fiona McIntosh had me in tears at her hilarious speech and dared us all to come at her. Certainly a woman I aspire to be like.

 

I came away feeling very inspired and eager to put everything I learned into motion. So watch this space. I’m hopeful that I’ll have some exciting news to report soon.

 

Thank you to everyone who organised and was a part of making the weekend so fabulous.

 

Suffice to say, I’m looking forward to Brisbane 2017.
Sunstone - 2016 Little Gems Anthology
Sunstone – 2016 Little Gems Anthology
