Authors Blog Challenge ~ Character Inspiration

Authors Blog Challenge

CHARACTER INSPIRATION

Happy Friday everyone! If you’re new to my page, hello and welcome. Let me introduce myself, I’m Camille Taylor, Australian author of romantic suspense and a softie for a HEA. This week, on the Authors Blog Challenge is Character Inspiration.

 

So, I’m more of a panster. For those not familiar with with the term means basically I write by the seat of my pants. No plotting involved. I do have a general idea of storyline and outcome but that’s it. Character personalities are almost the last thing I think of.

 

When I sit down to write I usually have no idea who the main character is. By this I mean I haven’t nutted out his/hers life plan, characteristics or personality. For me, that’s the surprise inside the box. I, like the reader get to learn this person as the story progresses. I write them around the story not the other way around and try to fit the personality to whatever will create the best conflict within the story. That being said, sometimes I don’t have a choice and the character is simply larger than life and won’t be quietened.

 

Image courtesy of Writers Write Creative Blog
Image courtesy of Writers Write Creative Blog

One thing I love about writing is that I can live vicariously through my characters. While I try to make them as different as I can, at their core they share the same values and code of honour. In the end I want a HEA and I write characters I would be friends with or like to date. (I simply love an alpha male who is considerate, strong and allows his woman independence while also protective.)

 

Check out my Pinterest page for all my inspiration boards:

Tune in next Friday for ‘A day in my life’

 

Just joining or missed last weeks post? Get them all here

 

Want to join along? Simply follow the below weekly topics and tag #LifeBooksWriting

Author's Blog Challenge

Keep in touch with me via the below links:

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | NEWSLETTER | PINTEREST


Law Series Ribbon

